What are your favorite joints in SF? (and nearby environs)

Traveling and dining in other Arizona cities and beyond
misterk

7 years ago

Hey All - Well, as many of you know, after 6.5 years of being an official Arizona resident, I'm moving back to the Bay Area in 3 weeks. And I know that many of you have taken quite a many trips to San Francisco in the not-too-distant past, and have dined up and down the city. So I'm wondering what your favorite places there are. I'm especially curious about any place that has opened up since the end of 2005.

As hard as it is to believe, I barely get a chance to do much culinary exploring whenever I'm in SF. Because 1) My time there is usually pretty limited and I'm running the Bay around trying to see as many friends and relatives as possible 2) My mom has already cooked 10 years' worth of food for me - and who am I to say no to a giant pot of biryani, and the other 8 favorite dishes that she just felt like cooking? and 3) Once word is out I'm back in town it ends up with me having to find a place to accommodate a large group of people (many with toddlers and young kids), which is pretty limiting in the city.

So - any restaurants, cafes, bars, other spots which you've come to love? Could be in SF or Oakland/Berkeley. I'm not a city snob and give the East Bay its fare share of my appetite.

Don't get me wrong, I do go out a lot when I'm back in SF, but not nearly enough, especially when it comes to dining. Hopefully that'll change now that I'm not going to be scrambling around like a madman. Any pointers that I can add to my list of places to try would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!
Skillet Doux

7 years ago

Don't even want to reply. Too bummed out.

But okay.