Phoenix Knife House - Fine Knives and Kitchen Supplies

2013 list of restaurants that have captured our love and admiration
M_L

6 years ago

I carefully considered doing several places but thought best to stray a little and stretch the wings of our program a bit so to speak. As I am certain all of you are aware we are not restricted to restaurants in so much as it does not specifically say so and as an attorney I reserve the right to interpret the rules how I see fit. I also considered doing my beloved Standard Restaurant Supply or one our many amazing Farmer's Markets/Farms/CSA's but ultimately landed on this one.

"Though it is a given that all Food Nerd Approved establishments create or are involved in the creation of excellent food, Food Nerd Approved differs from a typical "Best Of..." designation in that it is not simply an an empirical measure of excellence, but rather it denotes on a very personal level the places that have captured the adoration of this community of Phoenix-based food enthusiasts." (emphasis added) You may also argue that there is no specific topic designated for The Phoenix Knife House but I would disagree as that topic generally discusses it and steers people there for advice especially on Japanese style knives.

In my eye The Phoenix Knife House or PKH typifies this excellence. I am guessing if I called for a show of hands of those who cook, chef's included, not too many of us would be able to raise our hands and say we can sharpen our knives let alone sharpen them well. PKH is a vital and integral part of the food community and provides quick, impeccable, precise, and reasonable service no matter who you are. A novice like myself or a top flight chef. For my time vs cost analysis it is not even a passing concern.